About Cyprus

General Info

Cyprus is the third largest island in the Mediterranean, located 40 miles south of Turkey. Smaller than Sicily or Sardinia and larger than Corsica or Crete.  Cyprus has a fascinating history and is of enormous strategic importance – marking the meeting point of three continents: Europe, the Middle East and Africa.  It has a total area of 1357 square miles – roughly the size of Wales

Cyprus, a former British Colony until 1960, has been divided into two separate states since 1974 – the North is called the TRNC (Turkish Republic of Northern Cyprus) and The Republic of Cyprus (Greek Cypriots) is in the South of the island. This division was overseen by the UN following 11 years of unrest following the departure of the British. For further information on this division, see below (History).   A boundary known as the “Green Line” runs through Nicosia (Lefkoşa), the capital of both South and North Cyprus, separating the two states.  At present there are nine border crossings, offering 24 hour unrestricted access for EU citizens to pass through from North to South. 

Cyprus has excellent flight connections, and firstclass airports, the island is perfectly placed for working and travelling within and beyond the European Union. It has a rich heritage and diverse culture, beautiful beaches with the cleanest bathing water in Europe, fresh air, a wonderful Mediterraen climate and cosmopolitans cities with an ambundance of amenities.

The Island offer a low cost but high standard of living, and is very popular year round destination for Europeans seeking a coastal or golf holliday.